Rivers United emerge Governor Wike Pre-Season Tournament champions


Rivers United Football Club were last Sunday crowned champions of the 2nd edition of Governor Wike Pre-season tournament after they defeated Bayelsa United FC 5-4 on penalties.

 Bayelsa United took the lead at the first half of the game when Christian Mizo’s curtain raiser silences the home fans. But substitute Chika Godwin second half equalizer send the home fans into frenzy.

The full time score stood at 1-1 even as both teams tried to outwit themselves while trying to take their chances during the game. 

The Pride of Rivers had the better of the game as they dominated play in the first half missing several scoring chances.

Bayelsa united also created a lot of chances but the Pride of Rivers’ backline was solid.

Both teams then had to decide their fate via penalties after the referee signaled end of the game at 1-1.

The end result saw the Stanley Eguma managed team winning 5-4 on shoot out, then claiming the trophy of the 2nd edition of the Governor Wike Pre-Season Tournament.

Bayelsa United forward Okardi Inukurogha was named the most valuable player of the tournament, with MFM’s Clement Ogwu picking up the top scorer’s award with three goals.

Former Kano Pillars skipper, Theophilus Afelokhai, who scored the winning penalty kick for Rivers United was named as the best goalkeeper.

Giant killers Ottasolo International FC were named as the best team of the Tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here